مرفق تنمية القدرات في عقد المحيطات

ما هو مرفق تنمية القدرات لعقد المحيطات؟

ويستند مرفق تنمية القدرات لعقد المحيطات إلى مواطن القوة والخبرة الفريدة للجنة الأوقيانوغرافية الحكومية الدولية المشتركة بين اليونسكو في مجال تنمية القدرات، ويوفر وسيلة مرنة ومتطورة لدعم احتياجات تنمية القدرات للأفراد والمؤسسات المشاركة في عقد المحيطات.

ويعمل مرفق تنمية القدرات على تحديد ومعالجة احتياجات تنمية القدرات للشركاء المشاركين في إجراءات عقد المحيطات الحالية والمقبلة. ومن خلال هذا العمل، سيعمل مرفق تنمية القدرات على بناء روابط بين الخبراء في جميع أنحاء العالم مع التركيز بشكل خاص على تحفيز المشاركة وتعزيز الدعم للدول الجزرية الصغيرة النامية وأقل البلدان نموا والمهنيين في بداية حياتهم المهنية في مجال المحيطات.

وقد أنشئ عقد المحيطات لتنمية القدرات بتمويل من الحكومة الفلمندية من خلال الصندوق الاستئماني المشترك بين اليونسكو وفلاندرز.

كيف يعمل؟

ويدعم مرفق تنمية القدرات الجهات الفاعلة الراغبة في المشاركة في التصميم المشترك لإجراءات العقد في المستقبل، فضلا عن إجراءات العقد القائمة التي قد تحتاج إلى مزيد من الدعم بشأن مبادرات تنمية القدرات المستهدفة. يتم تحقيق ذلك من خلال:

  • تحديد الاحتياجات ذات الأولوية في مجال تنمية القدرات لمؤيدي إجراءات العقد الحاليين والمستقبليين
  • تقديم مبادرات لتلبية احتياجات تنمية القدرات المحددة عبر المرفق
  • دعم تيسير مجتمع الممارسين لعقد المحيطات الذي يركز على تنمية القدرات

ويدمج مرفق تنمية القدرات أيضا أنشطة محددة لتعبئة الموارد وإقامة شراكات مع الشركاء الخيريين والحكومات والصناعة لتأمين المساهمات المالية والعينية في التكاليف التشغيلية وبالتالي ضمان استدامته طوال عقد المحيطات وما بعده.

كيف تشارك؟

راسلنا عبر البريد الإلكتروني للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات حول كيفية المشاركة.

الاتصال: ماري فرانسيس ديفيدسون (mf.davidson@unesco.org)

تعرف على اللجنة التوجيهية

فرانسوا بايليت ، بكالوريوس (العلوم البيئية) ، دبلوم الدراسات التطبيقية (القانون واقتصاديات التنمية) ودكتوراه (القانون الدولي العام) شغل منصب المساعد الخاص للراحلة إليزابيث مان بورغيس لما يقرب من عقد من الزمان حتى وفاتها في عام 2002. ثم عين نائبا للمدير التنفيذي لشبكة المعهد الدولي للمحيطات (IOI) ، ثم مستشارا خبيرا في إدارة المحيطات للمعهد الدولي للمحيطات ، ومستشارا فخريا لرئيس IOI. وبعد حوالي عقد من الزمان مع معهد التحقيق الدولي، تولى منصبا في الأمم المتحدة في عام 2004، داخل شعبة شؤون المحيطات وقانون البحار (DOALOS)، مكتب الشؤون القانونية، حيث يشغل الآن منصب كبير الموظفين القانونيين.

أثناء عمله مع IOI ، تضمنت المسؤوليات الرئيسية للدكتور بيليت ما يلي: التعليم الأكاديمي لتنمية القدرات. وتطوير/تنفيذ قانون المحيطات وأطر السياسات على جميع مستويات الحوكمة. كما مثل المنظمة في العديد من العمليات الدولية والإقليمية والوطنية لقانون المحيطات وسياساتها، وفي الأمم المتحدة.

يشغل السيد بيليت حاليا منصب رئيس وحدة بناء القدرات والصناديق الاستئمانية في DOALOS ، وينسق العمل في مواضيع مختلفة بما في ذلك إدارة المحيطات ، والاقتصاد الأزرق والتمويل ، والتفاعل بين العلوم والسياسات ، ويقود احتفال الأمم المتحدة باليوم العالمي للمحيطات.

على مدى ثلاثة عقود ، عمل الدكتور بيليت كمحاضر ضيف ومتحدث في العديد من المؤتمرات الدولية والدورات الأكاديمية وبرامج تنمية القدرات في جميع أنحاء العالم ، وشغل منصب أستاذ مساعد في القانون وكذلك في الشؤون البحرية. كما عمل في العديد من مجالس الإدارة والهيئات الاستشارية للمؤسسات والجامعات والمنظمات غير الحكومية.

آلان إيفانز هو الرئيس المناوب لوفد المملكة المتحدة لدى اللجنة الأوقيانوغرافية الحكومية الدولية التابعة لليونسكو (IOC / UNESCO) ورئيس فريق خبراء IOC المعني بتنمية القدرات. وخلال فترة رئاسته لفريق الخبراء هذا، دعم آلان جهود اللجنة الأولمبية الدولية لتنمية القدرات. وشمل ذلك إجراء مسوحات منتظمة لتقييم احتياجات تنمية القدرات ، وتطوير مركز معلومات المحيطات التابع للجنة الأوقيانوغرافية الحكومية الدولية ومحور الأقراص المدمجة للمحيطات التابع للجنة الأوقيانوغرافية الحكومية الدولية ، وأشرف مؤخرا على تحديث استراتيجية تنمية القدرات للجنة الأوقيانوغرافية الحكومية الدولية ، 2023-30 وخطة التوعية والاتصالات المرتبطة بها.

شغل آلان عددا من الأدوار في مجال تنمية القدرات مع وكالات الأمم المتحدة الأخرى ، بما في ذلك كعضو في الفريق الاستشاري لصندوق الهبات التابع للسلطة الدولية لبحوث العلوم البحرية (الآن صندوق الشراكة) ، وعضو في اللجنة الاستشارية لمشروع أبحاث المرأة في أعماق البحار التابع للسلطة الدولية لقاع البحار ، وكان رئيسا للجلسة حول النتائج الرئيسية لتقييم صندوق الهبات خلال ورشة عمل ISA الدولية حول تنمية القدرات ، تقييم الموارد والاحتياجات، 2020. أشرف آلان على العديد من الزملاء في برنامج زمالة DOALOS-UN Nippon Foundation وكان أيضا عضوا في وفد المملكة المتحدة في مفاوضات معاهدة التنوع البيولوجي خارج الولاية الوطنية (BBNJ) ، حيث كان في IGC 5 ممثل المملكة المتحدة للتفاوض على الجزء الخامس من اتفاقية بناء القدرات ونقل التكنولوجيا البحرية.

تعمل كريستا فون هيلبراندت أندرادي في الإدارة الوطنية الأمريكية للمحيطات والغلاف الجوي كنائبة مدير المركز الدولي لمعلومات تسونامي (ITIC) ومديرة مكتبها الكاريبي في ماياغويز ، بورتوريكو. لعدة عقود ، شاركت في إنشاء وتعزيز أنظمة الإنذار المبكر من البداية إلى النهاية في أمريكا اللاتينية ومنطقة البحر الكاريبي. كريستا فون هيلبراندت - تركز أندرادي على تعزيز التأهب لأمواج تسونامي والقدرة على الصمود في مواجهتها في الولايات المتحدة ومنطقة البحر الكاريبي وعلى الصعيد العالمي من خلال برامج مثل برنامج اليونسكو للاعتراف بأمواج تسونامي الجاهزة وعقد المحيطات. وهي حاليا رئيسة الفريق العامل 3 المعني بنشر الإنذار بأمواج تسونامي والاتصال به التابع لفريق التنسيق الحكومي الدولي المشترك بين اليونسكو واللجنة الأوقيانوغرافية الحكومية الدولية المعني بنظام الإنذار بأمواج تسونامي والمخاطر الساحلية الأخرى في منطقة البحر الكاريبي والمناطق المجاورة وكذلك اللجنة العلمية لبرنامج تسونامي عقد المحيطات. فون هيلبرانت أندرادي حاصل على درجة البكالوريوس في الجيولوجيا من جامعة ديلاوير ودرجة الماجستير من كلية البوليتكنيك الوطنية في كيتو ، الإكوادور.

شارلوت هدسون هي مديرة مشروع برنامج Lenfest Ocean ، وهو برنامج علمي لتقديم المنح مقره في The Pew Charitable Trusts (واشنطن العاصمة ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية) ، والذي يمول المشاريع البحثية التي تلبي احتياجات أصحاب المصلحة البحريين والساحليين ويدعم المستفيدين من المنح للتفاعل مع الأشخاص الذين من المرجح أن يستخدموا النتائج. وهي مسؤولة عن تحديد المجالات المواضيعية للبحث والإشراف على تصميم وتنفيذ المشاريع البحثية التي تشمل المشاركة الهادفة مع أولئك الذين قد يستخدمون البحث. كما تشرف على المشاركة في نتائج البحوث وإبلاغها بطرق تسترشد بها قرارات السياسة وتعزز الإدارة المستدامة للمحيطات. شاركت شارلوت في تأليف العديد من الأوراق حول دور العلم والعمل الخيري والسياسة في صنع القرار. حصلت على درجة البكالوريوس في علم الأحياء من كلية ديفيدسون ودرجة الماجستير في الإدارة البيئية من كلية نيكولاس للبيئة في جامعة ديوك.

إيفجينيا كوستيانايا هي المنسقة العالمية لبرنامج عقد الأمم المتحدة للمحيطات المعتمد للمهنيين في المحيطات في بداية حياتهم المهنية ("برنامج ECOP") ومستشارة في اللجنة الأولمبية الدولية / اليونسكو. الهدف من البرنامج هو دعم المهنيين في المحيطات في بداية حياتهم المهنية في تنمية قدراتهم وعملهم من خلال توفير شبكات ذات مغزى ، والتدريب ، والتطوير المهني ، وفرص التمويل وخلق القدرة على التعاون وتبادل المعرفة. إيفجينيا هو مدير البيئة البحرية ولديه اهتمامات بحثية في التلوث البحري ، ومجموعات المحيطات ، والروابط بين تغير المناخ والأمن الغذائي ، وآثار تغير المناخ على السياحة الساحلية والبنية التحتية للسكك الحديدية.

تعمل إيفجينيا أيضا كمركز تنسيق في موسكو للمعهد الدولي للمحيطات (مالطا). وهي عضو في مجموعة عمل معنية بالتنمية المستدامة لمنطقة بحر قزوين والشبكة العلمية المتكاملة لبحر قزوين (CASPISNET). محرر مشارك لكتاب من مجلدين بعنوان "البلاستيك في البيئة المائية" (Springer ، 2022).

أندريك لال ، المركز التعاوني لعقد المحيط الهادئ (DCC).

تشغل آن كاترين ليسكراويت حاليا منصب مديرة العلاقات الدولية في معهد فلاندرز البحري (VLIZ).

تتمتع آن كاترين بخبرة تزيد عن 35 عاما في مجال الحفاظ على البيئة البحرية في أوروبا وأمريكا الجنوبية. شاركت بنشاط في برامج أبحاث المحيطات والابتكار من أجل الإدارة المستدامة ، حيث عملت في التفاعل بين العلوم والسياسات والتعاون مع الاقتصاد الأزرق في الاتحاد الأوروبي (الاتحاد الأوروبي) ، في أحواض البحر وفي سياق عالمي. ينصب تركيزها على الروابط بين المناخ والمحيطات والتنوع البيولوجي والمجتمع. في VLIZ ، تقوم حاليا بتنسيق المساهمة في عقد المحيطات ، كرئيس مشارك للجنة العقد الوطني البلجيكي ، وكحلقة وصل مع برامج الاتحاد الأوروبي مثل "Mission Ocean and Waters 2030" ، وفي التعاون الثنائي في أبحاث المحيطات في غرب المحيط الهندي وجنوب شرق المحيط الهادئ. كما تم تعيينها عضوا في لجنة فلاندرز (بلجيكا) - اليونسكو. وهي مؤيد قوي للعلوم المفتوحة وبيانات FAIR وتلتزم بمبادئ مشاركة بيانات البحث والبنية التحتية للتقدم في علوم المحيطات في سياق المشاركة العادلة. وهي تشجع على تنمية القدرات البشرية لتطبيق رؤية اليونسكو المتمثلة في "عدم ترك أي شخص خلف الركب" في مواجهة التحديات المجتمعية الكبرى.

آن كاترين حاصلة على درجة الماجستير في علم الأحياء البحرية ، ودكتوراه في العلوم البحرية من جامعة جنت (بلجيكا) وشهادة في إدارة المناظر الطبيعية من جامعة ويلز (المملكة المتحدة).

لي لي هو مدير قسم التعاون الدولي في المعهد الأول لعلوم المحيطات (FIO) ، وزارة الموارد الطبيعية ، في الصين ، والذي يستضيف المعهد حاليا مركز العقد التعاوني حول الترابط المناخي للمحيطات. يتمتع لي بخبرة في تنظيم الأحداث والأنشطة والمؤتمرات التدريبية الدولية ، فضلا عن إدارة وتنسيق المشاريع العلمية الدولية. وهي أيضا عالمة جيوكيميائية بحرية وتتركز اهتماماتها البحثية في عمليات الدورة البيوجيوكيميائية للعناصر النزرة في النظام البحري. قادت عددا من المشاريع التي أسسها CNSF و COMRA و MOST في الصين. وهي حاليا ممثلة لجنة العقد الوطني الصيني.

إديم ماهو محاضر أول في الكيمياء الحيوية البحرية في جامعة غانا. يمتد تدريسها وأبحاثها إلى إعادة البناء المناخي القديم والبيئي للنظم الإيكولوجية البحرية ، والتلوث البحري ، والحفظ ، والنهج القائمة على الطبيعة للتخفيف من المخاطر الساحلية الناجمة عن المناخ. تقود حاليا مشاريع استعادة شعاب المحار المرجانية والحفاظ عليها من أجل سبل العيش وحماية النظام البيئي ، وأشجار المانغروف كحلول قائمة على الطبيعة للمخاطر الساحلية في غانا. وهي زميلة في برنامج ARISE التابع للاتحاد الأفريقي / الاتحاد الأوروبي وبرنامج Royal Society FLAIR. وهي عضو مجلس إدارة الشراكة من أجل مراقبة المحيطات العالمية.

تشارك بشكل كبير في أنشطة تنمية القدرات في علوم المحيطات داخل إفريقيا وعملت كمنظم مشارك للمدرسة الصيفية للمحيط الساحلي في غانا ونيجيريا (COESSING) منذ عام 2015. وهي عضو في مجالس إدارة أربعة برامج معتمدة من عقد الأمم المتحدة للمحيطات ، وهي CoastPredict ، وفيلق المحيطات العالمي والناقل ، و EQUISEA ، ونظام أفضل ممارسات المحيطات. من خلال دعم الجمعية الجغرافية الوطنية والمنظمات الشريكة الأخرى ، تقود جامعة غانا لاستضافة ندوة العلوم البحرية في غرب إفريقيا. والندوة التي تهدف إلى تعزيز الشراكات للنهوض بعلوم المحيطات في غرب أفريقيا هي الأولى من نوعها التي تعقد في المنطقة دون الإقليمية، وقد أقرت بوصفها نشاطا من أنشطة العقد. حصل ماهو على جائزة إفريقيا للاتحاد الجيوفيزيائي الأمريكي (AGU) لعام 2022 للتميز البحثي في علوم المحيطات.  إنها شغوفة بتوجيه الجيل القادم من علماء البحار في إفريقيا وخلق فرص لمهنيي المحيطات في بداية حياتهم المهنية في القارة.

يشغل بيتر بيسيرسنز منصب رئيس مكتب مشروع IOC ل IODE في أوستند ، وهو أيضا أمانة IODE منذ عام 2007. كان بيتر بيسيرسنز في الأصل عالم أحياء بحرية من جامعة بروكسل الحرة ، وانتقل إلى كينيا في عام 1985 وطور شبكة المعلومات البحرية الإقليمية لشرق إفريقيا (RECOSCIX-WIO). كما عمل في برنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة في نيروبي قبل انضمامه إلى اللجنة الأوقيانوغرافية الحكومية الدولية في عام 1989 ، مرة أخرى في كينيا. انتقل إلى مقر اللجنة الأولمبية الدولية في باريس ، فرنسا في عام 1992 ، حيث تولى أنشطة إدارة المعلومات البحرية لتبادل البيانات والمعلومات الأوقيانوغرافية الدولية (IODE) التابعة للجنة الأولمبية الدولية. في عام 2000 تولى منصب رئيس خدمات المحيطات في اللجنة الأولمبية الدولية.

جاكلين أوكو، رئيسة فرقة العمل المعنية بعقد المحيط الأفريقي.

غيرت فيريت ، صناديق اليونسكو / فلاندرز الاستئمانية لدعم أنشطة اليونسكو في مجال العلوم (FUST). مع عدة عقود من الخبرة العملية تحت الحزام - معظمها في إعدادات حماية البيئة البحرية الدولية - يعمل جيرت فيريت حاليا مستشارا في قسم الأبحاث في وزارة الاقتصاد والعلوم والابتكار الفلمنكية (EWI) ، حيث يساهم في التعاون الفلمنكي والوطني والدولي في العلوم البيئية. وهو نقطة الاتصال البلجيكية للجنة اليونسكو الدولية الحكومية لعلوم المحيطات (IOC) ويشرف / يشارك في إدارة استخدام الموارد من صندوق فلاندرز الاستئماني لليونسكو للعلوم (FUST) الذي يدعم المشاريع في أقسام العلوم الطبيعية التابعة للجنة الأوقيانوغرافية الحكومية الدولية واليونسكو (مع أنشطة في البرنامج الهيدرولوجي الحكومي الدولي (IHP) ، برنامج الإنسان والمحيط الحيوي (MAB)).

وهو يمثل فلاندرز وبلجيكا في مختلف بيئات التعاون الأوروبية في مجال العلوم الطبيعية المتعلقة بالبحوث البحرية والمائية. وهو نائب رئيس مجموعة عمل الاستراتيجية للبيئة التابعة للبنية التحتية البحثية للمنتدى الاستراتيجي الأوروبي (ESFRI). يتابع حاليا بنشاط آليات التعاون البحثي البحري والمائي الأوروبية المختلفة ، مثل JPI Oceans وشراكات Horizon Europe و Mission Ocean and Waters.

آخر الأخبار:

مرفق تنمية القدرات التابع للعقد الجديد للمحيطات لدعم تنمية المهارات والمعارف من أجل إيجاد حلول مستدامة للمحيطات

يتم توزيع علوم المحيطات بشكل غير متساو عبر المناطق الجغرافية والأجيال والأجناس. وفقا للتقرير العالمي لعلوم المحيطات لعام 2020 (GOSR) ، فإن التطورات التحويلية في علوم المحيطات تقودها في المقام الأول الدول المتقدمة ذات الدخل المرتفع [...]

حكومة فلاندرز تمول مبادرة جديدة لدعم تنمية القدرات كجزء من عقد المحيطات

كجزء من عقد الأمم المتحدة لعلوم المحيطات من أجل التنمية المستدامة ، وافقت حكومة فلاندرز على تمويل بقيمة 1.1 مليون دولار أمريكي لمرفق جديد لتنمية القدرات داخل [...]

عقد المحيطات

العلم الذي نحتاجه للمحيط الذي نريده

ابقى على تواصل

الفعاليات القادمة

اشترك في نشرتنا الإخبارية

انضم إلى #عقد_المحيط

تفضيلات الخصوصية

عندما تزور موقعنا ، قد يقوم بتخزين المعلومات من خلال متصفحك من خدمات محددة ، عادة في شكل ملفات تعريف الارتباط. هنا يمكنك تغيير تفضيلات الخصوصية الخاصة بك. تجدر الإشارة إلى أن حظر بعض أنواع ملفات تعريف الارتباط قد يؤثر على تجربتك على موقعنا الإلكتروني والخدمات التي يمكننا تقديمها.

لأسباب تتعلق بالأداء والأمان ، نستخدم Cloudflare
مطلوب

تمكين / تعطيل شفرة تتبع Google Analytics في المتصفح

تمكين / تعطيل استخدام خطوط Google في المتصفح

تمكين / تعطيل تضمين مقاطع الفيديو في المتصفح

سياسة الخصوصية

يستخدم موقعنا ملفات تعريف الارتباط ، بشكل رئيسي من خدمات الطرف 3rd. حدد تفضيلات الخصوصية الخاصة بك و / أو وافق على استخدامنا لملفات تعريف الارتباط.

Ocean Decade Capacity Development Facility

What is the Ocean Decade Capacity Development Facility?

The Ocean Decade Capacity Development Facility builds on the unique strengths and expertise of IOC-UNESCO in capacity development and provides a flexible and evolutive means of supporting the capacity development needs of individuals and institutions involved in the Ocean Decade.

The Capacity Development Facility works to identify and address capacity development needs of partners involved in current and future Ocean Decade Actions. Through this work, the Capacity Development Facility will serve to build connections between experts across the globe with a special emphasis on stimulating engagement and strengthening support to Small Island Developing States, Least Developed Countries, and Early Career Ocean Professionals.

The Ocean Decade Capacity Development is established with funding from the Flemish Government through the UNESCO/Flanders Fund-in-Trust (FUST).

How does it work?

The Capacity Development Facility supports actors wishing to engage in the co-design of future Decade Actions, as well as the existing Decade Actions who may require further support on targeted capacity development initiatives. This is achieved by:

  • Identifying priority capacity development needs of existing and future proponents of Decade Actions
  • Delivering initiatives to meet the identified capacity development needs via the Facility
  • Supporting the facilitation of an Ocean Decade Community of Practice focusing on capacity development

The Capacity Development Facility also integrates specific activities to mobilize resources and establish partnerships with philanthropic partners, governments and industry to secure financial and in-kind contributions to operational costs and thus ensure its sustainability throughout the Ocean Decade and beyond.

How to get involved?

Email us for more information on how to get involved.

Contact: Mary Frances Davidson (mf.davidson@unesco.org)

Meet the Steering Committee

Francois Bailet, BSc (Environmental Sciences), Diplôme d’Étude Approfondies (Law and Economics of Development) and PhD (International Public Law) served as the late Elisabeth Mann Borgese’s Special Assistant for almost a decade until her passing in 2002. He was then appointed Deputy Executive Director of the International Ocean Institute Network (IOI), then Expert Advisor in Ocean Governance to the IOI, and Honorary Adviser to the President of IOI. After about a decade with the IOI, he assumed a post at the United Nations in 2004, within the Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea (DOALOS), Office of Legal Affairs, where he now serves as Senior Legal Officer.

While with the IOI, Dr. Bailet’s main responsibilities included: capacity development academic education; and development/implementation of ocean law and policy frameworks at all levels of governance. He also represented the organization within numerous international, regional and national ocean law and policy processes, and at the United Nations.

Currently, Mr. Bailet is head of the Capacity-Building and Trust Funds Unit of DOALOS, and coordinates work on various topics including ocean governance, the blue economy and finance, the science-policy interface, and leads the United Nations’ marking of World Oceans Day.

For three decades, Dr. Bailet has served as a guest lecturer and speaker in numerous international conferences, academic courses and capacity development programmes world-wide, and has held Adjunct Professorships in Law as well as in Marine Affairs. He has also served on several Board of Directors and Advisory bodies of Foundations, Universities and Non-Governmental Organizations.

Alan Evans is the Alternate Head of the UK Delegation to the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission of UNESCO (IOC/UNESCO) and is Chair of the IOC Group of Experts on Capacity Development. During his tenure as Chair of this Group of Experts, Alan has supported the IOC’s capacity development efforts. This included undertaking regular capacity development needs assessment surveys, the development of the IOC Ocean InfoHub and the IOC Ocean CD-Hub and most recently oversaw the updating of the IOC Capacity Development Strategy, 2023-30 and its associated Outreach and Communications plan.

Alan has held a number of capacity development roles with other UN agencies, including as a member of the Advisory Panel of the ISA Endowment Fund for Marine Scientific Research (now Partnership Fund), a member of the ISA Women In Deep-Sea Research Project Advisory Committee and was Chair of the session on Key findings of the assessment of the Endowment Fund during the ISA International workshop on Capacity Development, Resources and Needs Assessment, 2020. Alan has supervised several fellows of the DOALOS-UN Nippon Foundation Fellowship programme and was also a member of the UK Delegation at the Biodiversity Beyond National Jurisdiction (BBNJ) Treaty Negotiations, where at IGC 5 he was the UK representative negotiating Part V of the Agreement on Capacity-Building and the Transfer of Marine Technology.

Christa von Hillebrandt-Andrade works for the US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration as the Deputy Director of the International Tsunami Information Center (ITIC) and Manager of its Caribbean Office in Mayagüez, Puerto Rico. For several decades she has been engaged in establishing and strengthening end to end early warning systems in Latin America and the Caribbean. Christa von Hillebrandt- Andrade is focused on advancing tsunami preparedness for and resilience to tsunamis in the US, the Caribbean and globally through programs like the UNESCO IOC Tsunami Ready Recognition Programme and the Ocean Decade. She is currently the Chair of Working Group 3 on Tsunami Warning Dissemination and Communication of the UNESCO/IOC Intergovernmental Coordination Group for the Tsunami Warning System and other Coastal Hazards for the Caribbean and Adjacent Regions and also the Scientific Committee for the Ocean Decade Tsunami Program. von Hillebrandt-Andrade holds a BSC in Geology from the University of Delaware and a Master’s degree from the National Polytechnic School of Quito, Ecuador.

Charlotte Hudson is the Project Director of the Lenfest Ocean Program, a scientific grant-making program based at The Pew Charitable Trusts (Washington, D.C., USA), that funds research projects that address the needs of marine and coastal stakeholders and supports grantees to engage with the people most likely to use the results. She is responsible for identifying thematic areas of research and overseeing the design and implementation of research projects that include purposeful engagement with those who might use the research. She also oversees the engagement with and communication of research results in ways that inform policy decisions and promote the sustainable management of the ocean. Charlotte has co-authored many papers on the role of science, philanthropy and policy in decision-making. She received a bachelor’s degree in biology from Davidson College and a master’s degree in environmental management from the Nicholas School of the Environment at Duke University.

Evgeniia Kostianaia is the Global Coordinator of the UN Ocean Decade endorsed Programme for Early Career Ocean Professionals (“ECOP Programme”) and Consultant at the IOC/UNESCO. The goal of the Programme is to support Early Career Ocean Professionals in their capacity development and work by providing meaningful networking, training, professional development, funding opportunities and creating capacity for cooperation and knowledge exchange. Evgeniia is a marine environmental manager with research interests in marine pollution, ocean clusters, and connections between climate change and food security, and impacts of climate change on coastal tourism and railway infrastructure.

Evgeniia also acts as the Moscow Focal Point of the International Ocean Institute (Malta). She is a member of a working group on sustainable development of the Caspian Sea region and the Caspian Integrated Scientific Network (CASPISNET). Co-editor of a two-volume book “Plastics in the Aquatic Environment” (Springer, 2022).

Andrick Lal, Pacific Islands Ocean Decade Collaborative Center (DCC).

Ann-Katrien Lescrauwaet is currently director of International Relations at Flanders Marine Institute (VLIZ).

Ann-Katrien has over 35 years of experience in marine conservation, in Europe and South America. She has been actively involved in programmes in ocean research and innovation for sustainable management, working at the science-policy interface and the cooperation with the blue economy in the EU (European Union), in sea basins and in a global context. Her focus is on the linkages between Climate-ocean-biodiversity and society. At VLIZ she is currently coordinating the contribution to the Ocean Decade, as a co-chair of the Belgian National Decade Committee, and as a liaison with EU programmes such as ‘Mission Ocean and Waters 2030’, and in bilateral cooperation in ocean research in the Western Indian Ocean and in the Southeast Pacific. She is also appointed member of the Flanders (Belgium)-UNESCO commission. She is a strong supporter of Open Science and FAIR data and is committed to the principles of sharing research data and infrastructure to advance in ocean science in a context of equitable participation. She promotes human capacity development to put into practice the UNESCO vision to ‘leave no one behind’ in addressing the grand societal challenges.

Ann-Katrien holds a Masters’ degree in Marine Biology, a PhD in Marine Sciences from University of Gent (Belgium) and a degree in landscape management from University of Wales (UK).

Li Li is the Director of International Cooperation Division at the First Institute of Oceanography (FIO), Ministry of Natural Resources, in China, which institute currently hosts the Decade Collaborative Center on Ocean Climate Nexus. Li is experienced in organizing international training events, activities and conferences, as well as managing and coordinating international scientific projects. She is also a marine geochemist and her research interest is in biogeochemical cycling processes of trace elements in marine system. She has led a number of projects founded by CNSF, COMRA, and MOST in China. She is currently the representative of China National Decade Committee.

Edem Mahu is a Senior Lecturer of Marine Biogeochemistry at the University of Ghana. Her teaching and research span paleoclimatic and environmental reconstructions of marine ecosystems, marine pollution, conservation, and nature-based approaches to mitigating climate-induced coastal hazards. She currently leads the Oyster Reef Restoration and Conservation for Livelihood and Ecosystem Protection, and  Mangroves as Nature-based Solutions to coastal hazards in Ghana projects. She is a fellow of the African Union/European Union ARISE Programme and the Royal Society FLAIR programme. She is a board member of the Partnership for Observation of the Global Ocean.

She is heavily involved in ocean science capacity development activities within Africa and has served as a co-organizer of the Coastal Ocean summer school in Ghana and Nigeria (COESSING) since 2015. She serves on the boards of four UN Ocean Decade-endorsed programmes, namely, CoastPredict, the Global Ocean Corps and Conveyor, EQUISEA, and the Ocean Best Practices System. Through the support of the National Geographic Society and other partner organizations, she is leading the University of Ghana to host the West Africa Marine Science Symposium. The symposium which aims to Foster Partnerships to Advance Ocean Science in West Africa is the first of its kind to be held in the Sub-region and has been endorsed as an activity of the Decade. Mahu is the recipient of the 2022 American Geophysical Union (AGU) Africa Award for Research Excellence in Ocean Science.  She is passionate about mentoring the next generation of marine scientists in Africa and creating opportunities for early career ocean professionals on the continent.

Peter Pissiersens has been the Head of the IOC Project Office for IODE in Oostende, which is also the IODE Secretariat since 2007. Originally a marine biologist from the Free University of Brussels, Peter Pissierssens moved to Kenya in 1985 and developed the regional marine information network for eastern Africa (RECOSCIX-WIO). He also worked at UNEP Nairobi before joining the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission in 1989, again in Kenya. He moved to IOC headquarters in Paris, France in 1992, where he took on the marine information management activities for the IOC’s International Oceanographic Data and Information Exchange (IODE). In 2000 he took over as Head of IOC’s Ocean Services.

Jaqueline Uku, Chair of the African Ocean Decade Taskforce.

Gert Verreet, UNESCO/Flanders Funds-In-Trust for the support of UNESCO’s activities in the field of science (FUST). With several decades of work experience under the belt – most of it in international marine environmental protection settings – Gert Verreet is currently an Advisor in the Research Division of the Flemish Department of Economy, Science and Innovation (EWI), where he contributes to Flemish, national & international collaboration in environmental sciences. He is the Belgian Focal Point for the Unesco Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) and supervises / co-manages the use of resources from the Flanders Unesco Trustfund for the Sciences (FUST) that supports projects in the IOC and the Unesco natural science divisions (with activities in the Intergovernmental Hydrological Programme (IHP), Man & Biosphere Programme (MAB)).

He represents Flanders and Belgium in various European natural science cooperation settings related to marine and water research. He is the vice-chair of the Strategy Working Group Environment of the European Strategy Forum Research Infrastructures (ESFRI). He currently follows actively different European marine and water-related research cooperation mechanisms, such as JPI Oceans, Horizon Europe partnerships, the Mission Ocean & Waters.

Latest news:

New Ocean Decade Capacity Development Facility to support development of skills and knowledge for sustainable ocean solutions

Ocean science is unevenly distributed across geographies, generations and genders. According to the 2020 Global Ocean Science Report (GOSR), transformative advancements in ocean science are primarily led by developed, high-income [...]

The Government of Flanders funds a new initiative to support capacity development as part of the Ocean Decade

As part of the UN Decade of Ocean Science for Sustainable Development, the Government of Flanders has approved USD 1.1 million in funding for a new Capacity Development Facility within [...]

THE OCEAN DECADE

The Science We Need for the Ocean We Want

GET IN TOUCH

NEXT EVENTS

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER

OPPORTUNITIES

Join #OceanDecade

Privacy Preferences

When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in the form of cookies. Here you can change your Privacy preferences. It is worth noting that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we are able to offer.

For performance and security reasons we use Cloudflare
required

Enable/disable Google Analytics tracking code in browser

Enable / disable the use of Google fonts in the browser

Enable/disable embed videos in browser

Privacy policy

Our website uses cookies, mainly from 3rd party services. Define your Privacy Preferences and/or agree to our use of cookies.