Explore the Decade


Intergovernmental Ocenographic Commission Regional Committee for the Central Indian Ocean

United Nations


Contact Number


Email Address



7 place de Fontenoy 75007 Paris France
Paris FRA

IOCINDIO member States are: Australia, Bangladesh, France, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Iran, Kuwait, Malaysia, Maldives, Myanmar, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom. Following major areas of activities in line with IOC functions were decided to be taken up o Ocean Research: Effects of human induced changes: Ocean acidification, eutrophication, hypoxia, harmful algal blooms (HABs) in coastal waters of the North-western Indian Ocean o Observing Systems & Data: Ocean observations, coastal zone management, circulations and fisheries o Ocean Hazards: Coastal vulnerability assessment for sea level rise and storm surges, Monitoring with Responsible Response of Oil Spill in inner ROPME Sea Area respectively o Assessments & information for Policy: 2050 Integrated Ocean Policy Advice for Proactive Planning and Managements for IOCINCIO Member States o Governance: Blue Economy Business opportunities in the context of climate change adaptation and Disaster Risk Reduction o Capacity Development: “IOCINDIO Networking Research Infrastructures, Facilities and Human Resources” project proposal is a direct contribution to this function taking into account specificities in needs and capacities of Member States

Recent Activity