通过加强海洋知识、外联和能力建设,利用在小岛屿发展中国家加快行动的机会

2023 年 9 月 18 日 @ 18:30-20:00
装载事件
  • 该事件已通过。

在 2023 年可持续发展目标峰会期间,小岛屿发展中国家自然联盟和海洋十年联盟正在组织一次高级别特别活动:

通过加强海洋知识、外联和能力建设,利用各种机会加快小岛屿发展中国家的行动:
启动小岛屿发展中国家自然联盟与海洋十年联盟之间的战略合作

 

2023 年可持续发展目标峰会:加速行动,实现可持续发展目标

2023 年可持续发展目标峰会将于 2023 年 9 月 18-19 日在美国纽约市举行。它将标志着可持续发展目标加速进展新阶段的开始,为 2030 年之前的变革和加速行动提供高级别政治指导。峰会由联合国大会主席召集,将标志着距离实现 2030 年议程和可持续发展目标的最后期限已经过半。它将是联合国大会高级别周的核心活动,预计将重新点燃人们对 2030 年议程的希望、乐观和热情。

 

小岛屿发展中国家自然联盟与海洋十年联盟之间的战略合作

小岛屿发展中国家自然联盟及其为自然(包括海洋)建立的弥合差距的伙伴关系。考虑到生物多样性对小岛屿发展中国家的重要性以及 2030 年全球生物多样性框架的实施,一些小岛屿发展中国家同意成立小岛屿发展中国家自然联盟。该联盟的目标是以 ONE 的身份倡导商定的小岛屿发展中国家共同优先事项和需求,并促进小岛屿发展中国家自然战略伙伴关系的发展。小岛屿发展中国家自然联盟由伯利兹、佛得角、萨摩亚和塞舌尔政府共同领导,截至 2023 年 7 月 5 日已聚集了 31 个国家(17 个小岛屿发展中国家和 14 个之友)。它强调了小岛屿发展中国家通过战略伙伴关系弥补差距的三个优先事项。例如,第二个优先事项是需要支持小岛屿发展中国家的 "技术合作(包括小岛屿发展中国家-小岛屿发展中国家)、技术转让和数据管理能力"。例如,这包括提高科学与政策的衔接以及研究与发展方面的国家能力。

海洋十年联盟。为推动 "海洋十年 "雄心勃勃的全球海洋科学议程,成立了 "海洋十年联盟"("联盟"), 以利用和倍增对 "十年 "的资金和实物资源承诺。联盟的目标是建立一个由 "海洋十年 "知名合作伙伴组成的网络,通过有针对性的资源动员、网络建设和影响力,以身作则,促进对 "海洋十年 "的支持。联盟注重行动和共同制定解决方案。其任务是无与伦比的,旨在支持为各种形式的海洋科学调动资源,以实现海洋十年的愿景,从而为 2030 年议程做出贡献。认识到小岛屿发展中国家面临的独特挑战,以及资源充足的海洋科学为可持续和公平发展做出贡献的重大机遇,海洋十年--因此也是联盟--将小岛屿发展中国家的工作作为优先事项。联盟目前有 18 个机构成员,包括 10 个会员国(其中 3 个是小岛屿发展中国家)和 10 个赞助国。

为小岛屿发展中国家、海洋和科学开展战略合作。为了通过加强海洋知识、外联和能力建设,利用伙伴关系加快小岛屿发展中国家的 变革行动,小岛屿发展中国家自然联盟和海洋十年联盟决定携手合作。在实践中,这一战略伙伴关系将通过合作声明和行动框架来实现,并将在 2023 年可持续发展目标首脑会议期间,由小岛屿发展中国家自然联盟和海洋十年联盟的成 员国共同组织的高级别活动上启动。

 

启动仪式的重点和目标

1 发起小岛屿发展中国家自然联盟与海洋十年联盟之间的高级别新合作,以期利用各种机会,通过加强海洋知识、外联和能力建设,在小岛屿发展中国家加快采取变革性行动,实现可持续发展目标。联合行动框架将围绕 3 个共同合作领域:(i) 海洋知识;(ii) 能力发展;(iii) 全球外联。

2/ 使各会员国能够进一步讨论海洋知识、外联和能力建设方面的挑战和机遇,以指导小 岛屿发展中国家知情的可持续社会经济发展以及以创新为重点的合作机制。讨论将特别涉及以下主题:(i) 小岛屿发展中国家海洋科学和知识的现状;(ii) 小岛屿发展中国家海洋科学投资的优先事项和效益;(iii) 小岛屿发展中国家--小岛屿发展中国家同行学习与合作的作用。

观看录音

详细内容

日期:
九月份18, 2023
时间
18:30 -20 :00
活动类别:

场地

探险家俱乐部
46 E 70th Street
纽约市, 10021 美国
查看场地网站

组织者

海洋十年
联合国经社部

海洋十年

我们需要的科学,我们想要的海洋

取得联系

下一个活动

订阅我们的通讯

机会

加入 #海洋十年

隐私偏好

当您访问我们的网站时,网站可能会通过您的浏览器存储来自特定服务的信息,通常以 Cookie 的形式存储。您可以在此更改您的隐私偏好。值得注意的是,阻止某些类型的 cookie 可能会影响您在我们网站上的体验以及我们能够提供的服务。

出于性能和安全考虑,我们使用 Cloudflare
所需

在浏览器中启用/禁用 Google Analytics 跟踪代码

在浏览器中启用/禁用 Google 字体

在浏览器中启用/禁用嵌入视频

隐私政策

我们的网站使用 cookie,主要来自第三方服务。请确定您的隐私偏好和/或同意我们使用 cookie。

Harnessing opportunities for accelerated action in SIDS through enhanced ocean knowledge, outreach and capacity development

September 18, 2023 @ 18:30 - 20:00
Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

In the margins of the SDG Summit 2023, the SIDS Coalition for Nature & the Ocean Decade Alliance are organizing a high-level special event:

Harnessing opportunities for accelerated action in SIDS through enhanced ocean knowledge, outreach & capacity development:
Launching a strategic collaboration between the SIDS Coalition for Nature & the Ocean Decade Alliance

 

2023 SDG SUMMIT: towards accelerated action for reaching the SDGs

The 2023 SDG Summit will take place on 18-19 September 2023 in New York City, USA. It will mark the beginning of a new phase of accelerated progress towards the Sustainable Development Goals with high-level political guidance on transformative and accelerated actions leading up to 2030. Convened by the President of the General Assembly, the Summit will mark the half-way point to the deadline set for achieving the 2030 Agenda and the Sustainable Development Goals. It will be the centerpiece of the High-level Week of the United Nations General Assembly and is expected to reignite a sense of hope, optimism, and enthusiasm for the 2030 Agenda.

 

Strategic collaboration between the SIDS Coalition for Nature & the Ocean Decade Alliance

The SIDS Coalition for Nature & its gap-bridging partnerships for nature, including for the ocean. Considering the importance of biodiversity for SIDS and in view of the 2030 Global Biodiversity Framework’s implementation, several SIDS agreed to form a SIDS Coalition for Nature. The objective of this Coalition is to advocate as ONE for agreed common SIDS priorities and needs and to catalyze strategic partnership development for Nature in SIDS. Co-led by the Governments of Belize, Cabo Verde, Samoa and Seychelles and gathering 31 countries (17 SIDS and 14 Friends) as of July 5th 2023, the SIDS Coalition for Nature was launched at a high-level event, and announced its Call for Action at COP15. It underlines three gap-bridging priorities for SIDS to be addressed through strategic partnerships. The second priority for instance is about the need to support SIDS’ “technical cooperation (including SIDS-SIDS), technological transfer, and data management capacities”. This includes enhancing national capacities for science-policy interface and for research and development for example.

The Ocean Decade Alliance. To stimulate the ambitious global ocean science agenda of the Ocean Decade, the Ocean Decade Alliance (‘the Alliance’) has been established to leverage and multiply financial and in-kind resource commitments towards the Decade. The Alliance aims to create a network of eminent partners of the Ocean Decade that can lead by example to catalyze support for the Decade through targeted resource mobilization, networking, and influence. The Alliance focuses on action and the shared development of solutions. Its mandate is unparalleled and aims to support resource mobilization for ocean science in all its manifestations to achieve the vision of the Ocean Decade and thus contribute to the 2030 Agenda. The Ocean Decade – and thus the Alliance – prioritizes efforts in SIDS in recognition of the unique challenges that they face, and the significant opportunities for well resourced ocean science to contribute to sustainable and equitable development. The Alliance currently comprises 18 institutional members including ten Member States, of which three are SIDS, and 10 Patrons.

Towards a strategic collaboration for SIDS, ocean and science. In view to leverage partnerships for accelerated transformative actions in SIDS through enhanced ocean knowledge, outreach and capacity development, the SIDS Coalition for Nature and the Ocean Decade Alliance have decided to join forces. In practical terms, this strategic partnership will be materialized by a statement of collaboration and action framework to be launched at a high-level event co-organized by Member States of the SIDS Coalition for Nature and the Ocean Decade Alliance in the margin of the 2023 SDG Summit.

 

Focus & Objectives of the launching event

1/ To launch at high level a new collaboration between the SIDS Coalition for Nature and the Ocean Decade Alliance in view to harness opportunities for accelerated and transformative actions for reaching the SDGs in SIDS through enhanced ocean knowledge, outreach and capacity development. The Joint Action Framework will be articulated around 3 common areas of collaboration: (i) Ocean Knowledge; (ii) Capacity Development; and (iii) Global Outreach.

2/ To allow the different Member States to further discuss the challenges and opportunities for ocean knowledge, outreach and capacity development to guide informed sustainable socio-economic development in SIDS as well as cooperation mechanism focused on innovation. Particularly the discussion will cover the following themes: (i) Status of ocean science and knowledge in SIDS; (ii) Priorities for and benefits of investment in ocean science in SIDS; and (iii) The role of SIDS-SIDS peer-learning and cooperation.

Watch the recording!

Details

Date:
September 18, 2023
Time:
18:30 - 20:00
Event Category:

Venue

Explorers Club
46 E 70th Street
New York City, 10021 United States
View Venue Website

Organizers

Ocean Decade
UN DESA

THE OCEAN DECADE

The Science We Need for the Ocean We Want

GET IN TOUCH

NEXT EVENTS

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER

OPPORTUNITIES

Join #OceanDecade

Privacy Preferences

When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in the form of cookies. Here you can change your Privacy preferences. It is worth noting that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we are able to offer.

For performance and security reasons we use Cloudflare
required

Enable/disable Google Analytics tracking code in browser

Enable / disable the use of Google fonts in the browser

Enable/disable embed videos in browser

Privacy policy

Our website uses cookies, mainly from 3rd party services. Define your Privacy Preferences and/or agree to our use of cookies.